icrn phw energy cse dte gobar times rwh csestore iep

Challenge of the Balance

March 27, 2006-April 24, 2006 , New Delhi
Challenge of the Balance
‘Challenge of the Balance’, a month long international summer school for students and young professionals to build a cadre of young environmentalists who will in future take the environmental movement and sensibilities forward.

In keeping with this mandate, this interdisciplinary summer school was held in colloboration with SUM,Centre for Development and the Environment. They were accompanied by their faculty Harold Whilte.

This for credit crouse had three distinct sections - classroom lecture, field visit and end of the course assignment.

External Faculty
Dr. Savyasaachi(Reader, Department of Sociology, Jamia Milia Islamia);Dr. Ravi Chellan (UNDP) Madhu Sarin (Independent advisor on social development and collaborative natural resource management);Geetam Tiwari (IIT, Delhi);Bharti Chaturvedi (Director, Chintan, New Delhi)

CSE faculty included Anumita Roychowdhury, Sunita Narain, Chandrabhushan, Geeta Kavarana, Richard Mahapatra and others

Critique of accepted paradigms of environment & development
Ecology and culture in India
Governance imperative
Natural Resource Management:Forests and Livelihoods
Natural Resource Management:Water Management
Debates in wildlife management, Disaster management
Air Pollution; Ecological refugees
Pollution: Water
Pollution: Industry
Climate Change
Field Visit
Participants went to Jaipur and saw the water connect between the forts. The next destination was Laporiya, about an hour's drive from Jaipur where they how communities have benifitted from rainwater harvesting of the desertland. They also went to Bhonta Koylala to see community led initiatives to recharge a dying river. They also spoke to communities living in the Sariska Tiger Reserve where they have been living for hundreds of years.
  • Aurora Nereid
    Bastian Engelsen Klunde
  • Brita Carina Nummedal
    Darja Mokrusina
  • Eirik Fosseli
    Esten Johnsen Ødegaard
  • Gry Asp Swinnerton
    Ina Jakobsen
  • Kari Laumann
    Lars Christian Sundblad Steineger
  • Leo Rygnestad
    Mari Frengstad
  • Maria Sviland
    Marte Wennevik
  • Martin Frederick Tucker
    Nina Bø
  • Renate Viken
    Shari Carina Brown
  • Therese Torstensson
    Thomas Rolf Brattheim